Goodbye Snow, Hello Rain

 

As the days of March continue on and the weather begins to slowly warm with every new day, the snow has melted and the rainy weather has taken over. They say that April showers bring May flowers and if that is in anyway true then we are sure in for magnificent flowers in a couple of months. The past week has been rainy almost every day, and as a result, what used to be a slow trickle of water in a stream has become a raging torrent river. I took the above photo at a small waterfall no more than a five-minute walk from my house. Usually it is no more than a small splash of water pouring over the rock wall, but with all the snow melt and the few inches of rain over the past couple days it has been transformed to a miniature powerful fall.

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Snow, Hello Rain”

  1. Beautiful capture. Although I know all the rains (at least in my area) have caused quite a bit of flooding and can be seen as destructive, you managed to make it look beautiful. 🙂

    1. Thanks Robin! A few places in Connecticut have suffered from some flooding as well. This “stream” happens to be in a gully with rather steep sides, thank goodness.

  2. I think this is beautiful. I love the splashes of color throughout – the green moss, the orange leaves on the ground. It’s pretty cool that this is only 5 minutes from your home. I’ve made it a goal to explore more of the area around my house as well, especially after reading this.
    We had a ton of snow this year so unfortunately, flooding is expected. There is none in my area, thankfully, but I know some places in North Jersey are really getting it!

    1. Thanks Preeti,
      That book actually sounds pretty interesting. For only 5 bucks I might have to make a point to go ahead and order it just to check out what it has to offer. The area around my house is not very photogenic, but I may be biased on that because as you can tell I love to photograph nature and wilderness. When another house is on both sides and behind your own it is tough to find the wilderness there, so I’m glad I was able to find a little bit of a “wild” stream on this day. Glad to hear your area is flood free!

  3. That definitely inspires me to check out more areas near my home, as well! And nice job on the slow shutter speed – I love how soft the water looks. Did you use a tripod??

    1. I would definitely recommend it! What I do not necessarily recommend is getting up early to go out in the pouring rain and attempting to balance yourself on the wet rocks while taking a photo and at the same time attempting to hold an umbrella up in order to protect your camera :P, but maybe that extra effort played a role in the outcome of the photo. Thanks for the compliment! My shutter speed was set to 1/15, and I did not use a tripod, rather I attempted to balance myself against a tree in order to minimize as much movement as possible. My auto shake adjust was turned on as well of course.

Leave a Reply

