As Bilbo Baggins Once Said – “I Think It’s Time For Another Adventure!”

  *Photo credited to TNR.com. Click for link to photograph and site.

I’m one photography class and one writing class away from my flight to Iceland. It’s been about a month wait for this trip, and I have to say it actually went by faster than you’d think. I probably have you to thank for that, if you’re currently taking the time to read this, because a lot of my free time is spent surfing WordPress sites, replying to comments, and writing new posts. I enjoy this greatly, so thank you.

They call Iceland the “land where you can witness the constant battle between fire and ice,” and for a good reason. Located directly on top of the Mid-Atlantic Rift (which is slowly splitting the country apart), directly below the Arctic Circle (which adds to cold temperatures and allows for many spectacular glaciers), and having more than twenty-four active volcanoes (the last to erupt, as we all remember, was April 2010), it is an understatement to say that the land is geologically diverse. There is wilderness covered by ice, lava-fields, hot springs, meadows, lakes, and waterfalls, all of which combine to create what should be a spectacular location for an adventure. For a much more extensive list of facts and reason why I’ve decided to go to Iceland, please click here.

I’ve been looking forward to visiting Iceland for two years now, and I hope you will join me via this blog as I post photographs and stories about my experiences while I’m abroad. One of the first adventures I have planned is to climb Mt. Eyjafjallajökull (the volcano that erupted last year) which involves going across glaciers, lava-fields, and glacial rivers just to get there. We’ll see what happens from there.

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

5 thoughts on “As Bilbo Baggins Once Said – “I Think It’s Time For Another Adventure!””

  1. I’m looking forward to following along on your blog as you explore Iceland. Iceland is near the top of my list of places I want to visit in the next few years.

    1. After just 5 hours of being in the country I’d say it is the most bizarre place I have ever been. For that reason, I absolutely love it so far!

Leave a Reply

