Iceland Day 3 – Strokkur Geysir

Strokkur Geysir forms a pulsing bubble.

I woke up for my third day in Iceland to blizzard conditions. The wind was whipping snow and sleet like I have never seen before– it was literally horizontal to the ground like how you only usually see depicted in the movies. Despite the conditions, I was still going to go out and do my thing, which today was the Golden Circle Tour.

*cough* Did I say the word “tour?” – Yes, unfortunately, and I know this completely breaks my travel philosophy, but hey, rules can be broken sometimes – especially when you’re traveling alone, didn’t rent a car,  and find yourself in a country as remote as Iceland.

But popular tour or not (The Golden Circle is the most popular in Iceland), poor weather and all, the sites were still incredible. The best of the day was certainly Strokkur Geysir (or Geyser in English) which is a boiling pot of natural geothermal water. It’s a hole in the ground really, with water so hot (212 F to be exact) that it slowly builds up pressure underground, forms a pulsing bubble at the surface as the pressure climbs, begins to release steam, and finally bursts through the bubble of water and erupts into the air. Strokkur in particular is famous for doing this every five to eight minutes for all twenty-four hours in a day.

Here are some photos that I captured of Strokkur Geysir during a calm in the day’s storm.

Strokkur Geysirs bubble bursts.

 

Strokkur Geysir erupts into the air and turns to steam.

 

That’s what I have of Strokkur Geysir, a spectacular show in Iceland which I highly recommend!

___________________________________

On an off-note –

For those of you who are into different foods in different countries –

Tonight’s Icelandic meal included:

Appetizer – Raw, but smoked bits of Puffin breast served over arugula lettuce and spiced (not hot, more flavored) sauce.

Main Course – Grilled Puffin breast served with baked potato and grilled vegetables, again a strange (but tasty) sauce served over all of it.

Desert – Icelandic Skyr (or very thick strained yogurt) served with strawberry sorbet, fresh strawberries, and fresh blueberries. 

Although at first hesitant, I have to admit, the appetizer was my favorite part to the meal.  

Until tomorrow,

– Nate, from Iceland.

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

17 thoughts on “Iceland Day 3 – Strokkur Geysir”

  1. I really love that first photo. The blue is unreal!
    You are quite dedicated for braving those conditions and getting out there.
    BTW, as with many places, I’m assuming a lot of Icelandic food is not vegetarian? That’s one of the biggest challenges I face going anywhere – trying to find food I can eat.

    1. That’s my favorite of the three as well. I literally stood there with my camera constantly focused for about 6 minutes (seperately for all three shots), and had to brace myself in the wind, in order to capture these.
      Hmmm, most Icelanders eat lots of Lamb, Beef, Puffin, Shark, and Whale. They have tons of other sea food, lots of salmon here, shrimp, etc, so if you are a vegetarian that does eat seafood you should be fine in Iceland. However, I know some vegeterians dont, but while I was walking around Reykjavik today I saw a few Vegetarian only restaurants that are supposed to be quite good. So i think you’d be alright finding a place that fits your tastes.
      But yes, most Icelanders eat lots of meat.

  2. Great shots, Nate. (Say, I’m a veggie, too. What does one eat in Iceland? I don’t remember how I survived that far back.)

    1. Thanks Jan! Like I replied to Preeti, I did pass a few vegetarian-only restaurants today while walking around Reykjavik. If you eat fish and seafood then you would be all set with Shark, Whale, Salmon, Shrimp, Lobster, however if not, there are lots of vegetables that are grown here which I’m sure would be served at those Veggie restaurants.
      Fun fact – I visited the world’s northern-most banana farm up here just below the Arctic Circle in Iceland. You’ll be surprised what they can grow here.

      However, traditionally, Icelanders eat lots of meat – Puffin, Lamb, beef, I even saw Pigeon on the menu. Traditional Icelandic food includes flame grilled sheep’s head, the inner parts to the sheep, and raw shark meat left out in the sun to rot before eaten. But thankfully they don’t really eat that anymore, unless during a festival time (which ended a few weeks ago) where Icelanders eat only traditional foods – but I’m sure they wouldn’t make a tourist join in on that.

  3. Great shots …very “dramatic” with that bright blue color. Mt next thought is “Puffin breast!!!” …I honestly never knew people ate them. Always thought they were closer to the endangered list than not …guess I am wrong.
    Great post,
    John

    1. Hmm, I’m not 100% sure on that. I hope not because I would feel quite bad about that, however I’m sure they wouldn’t be hunted for food if so. Icelander’s also hunt whale for food as well as other purposes, but I couldn’t bring myself to take part in eating them, I disagree with the hunting of whale, yet, I understand Iceland has limited resources. Thanks for the compliment; the blue of the water was quite a sight!
      – Nate

  4. These pictures are awesome, Nate! I love the one of the bubble – certainly very different from the geysers at Yellowstone, aren’t they?
    By the way, this blogging is catchy! I’ve been spending at least 11/2 hours every night reading your posts and everyone’s comments. so fun!

  5. Nate, sorry, I wasn’t insinuating that you were partaking in endangered species eating 🙂 …I just thought they were, but apparently mistakenly. Always listen to mom 🙂

    1. Hahaha, what do they say?… mother’s know best, right? I’m glad they aren’t, although I love eating meat, I also love animals too much to eat any that would be considered endangered.

  6. Since I was a little kid, Iceland has always fascinated me. As I grew up, I saw so many images about the country. I also remember watching a new year’s eve celebration in Iceland which I think was awesome. Great pictures of yours (I like the first photo). Cool and secluded, Iceland is definitely one of the must-visit places in my life.

    1. Thanks for your compliments. I’ve heard that Iceland’s New Year’s Eve show is quite the sight. Maybe I’ll get to witness it for myself one day. Hopefully you’ll get there someday soon! Thanks for visiting,
      – Nate

    1. Hi Nileta,
      It isn’t as cold as you’d think. That being said, I was always bundled up in a fleece jacket, a goose-down jacket, and hat and gloves! Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment!
      – Nate

Leave a Reply

