Frozen In Time: Gullfoss Waterfall During Blizzard – Iceland

 

The famous Gullfoss waterfall in Iceland – the largest waterfall in all of Europe, and partially frozen for winter. It is a two-tiered lava-rock waterfall that flows straight down into a rift between the North American and Eurasian Continental plates.

I was standing along the edge of the North American continental plate, balancing myself in blizzard conditions. 60 – 70 mile per hour winds, blowing horizontal snow, almost no visibility, and a drop-off into what seems like an abyss no more than ten feet from the place my feet were attempting to brace myself. So what did I do? I knew very well that a picture probably wouldn’t come out, that it was probably a complete waste of exposing my fingers to the biting cold, not to mention exposing my camera to the snow and ice blowing all around me– but I decided to risk a photograph. Afterall, who goes to Gullfoss in a blizzard anyways?

Upon my return, I took this picture out, uploaded it to my computer and had to edited it a little. White balance, darkening the water, etc, in order to make it semi-comprehensible as far as what it is you’re looking at. Given the conditions that I was dealing with, I think the photograph came out pretty darn cool– and hey, at least it’s a decent story to tell!

Hope you enjoy it,

– Nate

6 thoughts on “Frozen In Time: Gullfoss Waterfall During Blizzard – Iceland”

  1. This picture/story reminds me of the time I hiked through the Black Forest in Germany…during a thunderstorm. Needless to say, I was soaked, especially since I stupidly didn’t pack a raincoat.

    Looking back now, I realize that though I grumbled the whole time (cursing inanimate objects like rain and wind), it was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t have given up. I love when traveling tests your limits but you’re always glad it does.

    1. Hey Janie,
      The Black Forest sounds like quite the hike. Lesson learned: raincoat is always to be packed! haha.

      However, I totally hear you about those experiences that seemed quite crazy and rediculous at the time, but turned out to be one of the greatest of the whole trip. Gotta love those. Keep up with the traveling as much as you can!

      Nate

      p.s. – do you have pictures of the Black Forest on your blog? I’d love to check those out if so.

  2. I have to agree with you. This is a remarkably good photo considering the conditions (says/writes someone who has been out taking photos in blizzards all too often). You did good. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Robin! I had no idea what it would come out like. Actually, I expected just a blur of white. But once I got it on my computer I was pretty amazed with how it looked, especially each individual snowflake.

Leave a Reply

