Announcing New Travel Plans: Peru!

So what do you say, do you think it’s about time I get out of here once again to set off on another adventure? I think hell yes! The last time I told you guys that I was leaving for another trip was when I headed to Iceland by myself for 6 days in March. I loved this trip for a multitude of reasons: 1: Who goes to Iceland in the Winter? I do. 2: I went during the low season as far as tourism goes, so pristine places like Blue Lagoon weren’t overcrowded with tourists. And 3: Iceland provided me with the flexibility and freedom to do everything I love to do: hike, practice photography, and update this blog.

I’ll be leaving for Peru on November 29th and returning on or around Dec. 8th, yet, this trip is going to be quite a bit different from Iceland. Instead of heading down to South America by myself like I did when I went to Patagonia, Argentina, I’ll be leaving with a friend of mine from college. We met early on in our college careers, but it turns out I didn’t really know him until just recently when I found out he loves adventure as much as I do.  For this reason we have planned the four-day/ three-night hike from Cusco, Peru to Machu Picchu. After all, after seeing a photo like this:

Photo Credit: http://www.peru-machu-picchu.com/

 who wouldn’t want to go there? Truth be told, Machu Picchu has been on my list of places I absolutely have to go to for a long time, and I recently learned that the Peruvian government is considering closing the ruins off due to the wear and tear of too much tourism literally begining to destroy them. This upcoming trip is in a big part a desperate attempt for me to get there before this happens.

Once we finish the hike, the adventurous part of this trip will certainly not be over. We are literally going to be stuck in Cusco, 628 miles out of Lima, which is where our flight back to the U.S. will leave from. We’ll be stuck because we purposely bought just a one-way plane ticket from Lima to Cusco so that we are forced to find our own way back. Of course, worst case scenario we can buy a last-minute plane ticket back to Lima, but instead we’d rather take a few days to explore this city:

all while saving enough time to make the possible 21-hour bus ride  that we are considering taking across the Andean mountains and through the jungle in order to return to Lima. I’ve read online that this bus route used to be taken over by highwaymen robbers and terrorists, and 10 years ago, those who made the trip and survived ended up writing books about their experiences. It is supposed to be quite a bit more safe today, but hey, it sounds intriguing anyways doesn’t it?

Lastly, a blog-friend of mine over at Domestiphobia.net shared this image with me:
a photograph of a place called Huacachina, an oasis in the middle of the desert side of Peru. Since we do not have a flight back to Lima booked, we left ourselves with the freedom to explore. I’ve figured out that Huacachina is 430 miles outside of Cusco, but only 195 miles out of Lima, so practically on the way to where we have to go to get back. Currently, it is looking more and more like we’ll be making a pit-stop at this incredible location!
So why do I want to go to Peru?
  1. In the event that Machu Picchu closes to the public in the near future I absolutely have to say that I’ve been there.
  2. It is an epic hike through the Andes and Cusco is surrounded by my favorite natural setting: the mountains.
  3. I’ll be going the first week of December- the low season-  which means less tourists, keeping this trip at least slightly in line with my travel philosophy.
  4. The scenery will provide great photography opportunities!
  5. And lastly, I know from previous experiences that I already love South America.

If it doesn’t seem like this trip is well planned, well, it really isn’t. But at the same time that’s how I want it. Apart from the Inca Trail Hike, I’m looking forward to everything else falling into place as it happens, no reservations.

Although this trip is still a couple of months away, I’m greatly looking forward to it. Just like Iceland, I again invite all of you to tag along with me for an armchair adventure while I’m there, and I look forward to constantly keeping everyone posted with updates about the trip as it all happens.

Until then,

– Nate

 

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

12 thoughts on “Announcing New Travel Plans: Peru!”

  1. I went there right after Sept. 11th in November. Be careful in lima as I got instantly mugged. I loved the trek to Machu Picchu. We had great guides and great company. Most of us got sick though due to the food but the trip was amazing. See my earlier posts if you want !

    1. Nice! I actually saw your Peru posts when I went to read your chain about Iceland haha. Thanks for the tip! If you don’t mind me asking, were you traveling alone at that point? Just trying to get an idea of how dangerous it really is because you are not the first one to tell me that. Also, what company did you go with??

  2. Ugh sooo envious. :)) And I did NOT hear that Machu Picchu might be closing to the public!!! Holy smokes, I might need to start selling myself on a corner of Bragg Boulevard so I can get there….

    Kidding.

    Mostly.

    So glad you might get to go to Huacachina too! Either way, on the chance I never make it to one of my top dream destination countries, at least I’ll get to live vicariously through someone who will. 🙂

    1. Hey Katie, sorry for the late reply. Yeah a friend of mine even just told me that he heard they are probably going to close it completely within 3 – 5 years and not reopen in again for 65-100 years so that a new generation can see it. I’m not sure exactly how true that is, that’s just what he told me he read somewhere the other day. You know what that means though, right? You HAVE to go within the next 3! Huacachina is going to be amazing if I actually make it there. I think it is going to be tough to do, but im hoping for sure. We’ll see!

    1. Thanks Scott! I’ve seen so many of other people’s photographs so I’ve been looking forward to the trip for a long time now. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

