Heading South: Peru

Hey everybody,

It’s here! It’s time for me to set out on my next adventure. I’ll be leaving for South America to head to Peru in two days, Monday November 28th.

I’m going to be setting out on the epic four-day/ three-night trek along the ancient Inca trail to Machu Picchu, and once I arrive at the ruins I’ll be leaving the group that I’m trekking with to go climb to the summit of Wayna Picchu, the mountain that overlooks Machu Picchu, on my own. Here, I’m hoping to capture some great sunrise photographs from an angle many people never get to see: approximately 1,200 feet above the ruins.

I’ll also be spending quite a bit of time exploring the city of Cusco and I’ll be sure to dig up a few treasures to share with all of you while I’m there.

Unfortunately, due to the necessity to travel extremely light (I’ll be carrying everything I have on my back for the duration of the trek) I will not be bringing my laptop with me as I did in Iceland. This means I’ll have to wait to write about the trip when I get back after about 12 days.

Thanks ahead of time for patiently awaiting my return, and I look forward to continuing to share my travel experiences with all of you!

Until then,

Nate

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

17 thoughts on “Heading South: Peru”

    1. I have to agree there. I never bring more than a carry-on no matter where I’m going. Its worth it simply not to wait for baggage claim.
      Thanks, Andreas,
      Nate

  1. How exciting that you’ll get to experience both Cusco and Machu Picchu, two fantastic destinations in Peru! Hope you have a wonderful journey and looking forward to your posts upon your return.

  2. Hope you have a fantastic time Nate! Looking forward to your posts on your return. I also think that it is better to just enjoy a trip – then blog about it once home again. Happy travels 🙂

    1. Hi Lu!

      I stumbled upon a computer to use to reply to a few comments while I have a moment free. I´m in Cusco, Peru right now. This city is absolutely amazing. I have to agree and also disagree with you about blogging while traveling. I feel like it is better to enjoy a place and not worry about blogging, but I also feel like it might be a more ineresting and engaging read for your readers if they know they are basically reading live from the country! What do you think about that?

      Anyways, can´t wait to blog about Peru when I get back, and thanks for continuing to read about my travels!
      Nate

      1. You make a fair point Nate. I guess it will be down to the author as to whether he/she has time/energy to post whilst travelling. I often find that at the end of a particularly eventful day that my mind is a whirlwind – it takes a little time for my thoughts to collect themselves into something that could become a blog post… otherwise I might find myself rambling incoherently and generally posting rubbish/trash 🙂

    1. Hi Pommi! Wow, thank you so much! I´ve never actually heard of this before so I had to look it up haha. I´m honored that you like my blog that much, so thanks again!

      Nate

  3. Yo Nate …thanks for your last great comment. I haven’t been on in awhile …was in Thailand, Laos and Cambodia for the last month. Get there!!! Greatest part of the world I’ve ever seen. Have a great trip!!!
    John

    1. Hey John!

      I figured you must have disappeared to some jungle somewhere in the world. I agree, I have to get to that part of the world very soon. Looking forward to reading about it and seeing photographs on your blog. Peru has been great fun so far, but unfortunately it is all coming to and end way too fast. I´ll be back in the States in just a couple days now. Thanks! Talk to you soon, I´m sure.
      Nate

Leave a Reply

