Alaskan Wolf

Wild Alaskan Wolf

A member of a wild pack of wolves that I saw in Denali National Park, Alaska. A ranger told me the wolves are an extremely rare sight in the park and seemed astonished that I actually saw them, so I was pretty happy to have this opportunity. I’m still kicking myself for making the incredibly poor decision to cut her paws out of the photograph though. I’m not sure why I did that, but I like the photo anyways. Plus, it sparks one helluva memory, and that’s all that matters!

4 thoughts on “Alaskan Wolf”

  1. Great memory is right.

    I feel your pain on the feet thing. I was very fortunate recently to run into a red-tail hawk that was willing to pose for me. I had all the time in the world to frame the shots and still ended up chopping the tail feathers off in about a third of the shots.

    Sometimes the excitement gets the better of me.

    Still a great shot though. To be honest I didn’t really even notice the feet until you mentioned it.

    1. Oh my god, Jeff, I know exactly what you mean! Also in Denali National Park I photographed a juvenile falcon eating a little bird and at the time I thought the shot looked great zoomed in enough to only show the falcon’s head/breast as it eats this dead bird. Not until after I got home that I really wished I didn’t cut any of her out. That (and the wolf above) was before I was really serious about photography though (and before I invested in my nice camera), so I have an excuse, hah! Now I just need to go back to Alaska in hopes to fix the mistakes.

      Thanks for the compliment though! I havn’t had a chance to return to your site to see your snowy owl photographs yet. I’m going to do this tomorrow for sure! Talk to you then,

      Nate

Leave a Reply

