Saying Goodbye to that Dreadful Corporate Job and Living the Dream

If you’re a longtime reader of this blog, you’ll probably remember the post called My Next Step which I wrote a long time ago after returning from a wilderness backpacking trip in Patagonia Argentina. For reasons unknown to me, that post has actually been one of the more popular of the many posts on this blog (maybe I’m just super awesome at search engine optimization, eh? :D) (yeah, right). Anyways, if you remember that post, then you know I basically created a series of goals to get to me to where I wanted to go, which in the long run was to quit my corporate job to become an outdoor educator. You could say things didn’t go exactly as planned, but hey, nothing ever really goes to plan now does it. But I’d say it came pretty freakin’ close!

The other day I quit my corporate job as an Assistant Store Manager at an AT&T store. While this was not by any means a bad job, it just wasn’t my style. I seemed to always find myself stuck sitting behind a desk on a nice day, monotonously staring at the computer screen in front of me– drool dripping from the corner of my mouth. I finally called it quits, but don’t worry, not before finding something else.

In my previous My Next Step post I talked about saving money to go on Outward Bound’s Outdoor Leader Course. I finally saved up enough money to afford this course, and I’m heading down to North Carolina tomorrow for 50 days of Wilderness First Responder medical certification, wilderness backpacking, rock-climbing, and whitewater canoeing. Upon completing this course and receiving the minimum wilderness first aid certification required for my new job, I’ll start work as an instructor for a company based out of North Carolina who takes teens on 15 – 30 day wilderness trips to many different National Parks all around the USA. During these trips, I’ll be a member of a six instructor team who will teach these young adults outdoor skills like rock-climbing, mountaineering, wilderness navigation, canoeing, canyoneering, etc, all while maintaining a camp-like environment that focuses on the self-development of my students via experiential education.

Sounds great, right?! I won’t find out exactly which trip I’ll be instructing, or where I’ll be going, until May, but that isn’t too long to wait since I have this course to go on until the end of April anyways.

Check out my instructor Bio for this new job:

Nate is excited to be joining us for his first summer as an instructor. He earned his B.A. in English at Central Connecticut State University and he brings an irrefutable life-long passion for the outdoors. He grew up spending time in more than fifteen National Parks in the U.S.A.  He has fished alongside wild grizzly bears in Alaska, trekked around Eyjafjallajökull volcano in Iceland, backpacked into the wilderness of Patagonia Argentina, and hiked the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Peru. Nate started as a student of a backpacking course with the North Carolina Outward Bound School; he has since graduated from an Outward Bound Instructor Course, and he is a certified whitewater rafting guide and Wilderness First Responder.

Oh, and although I’m not going to have internet access for blogging while I’m away for the next couple months, I did get my camera equipment insured, so I’m totally taking it with me on this course. Should be able to get at least a few great outdoor shots over the next couple months, I hope 😀

Looking forward to talking to you all again when I return. Wish me luck!

Author: Nathan Bush

Nathan Bush is an avid traveler, adventurer, and professional wedding and landscape photographer. His absolute favorite pastime is hiking all the while lugging his camera equipment into the backcountry in order to capture beautiful images of the wild. He currently lives in Colorado with his soon to be wife, Florence.

15 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to that Dreadful Corporate Job and Living the Dream”

  1. Congrats on the new job Nate, sounds awesome! And after a few weekends with me before you go, you should be an awesome photographer too 🙂

    I couldn’t type that last part with a straight face!

    1. Hey Jeff,
      Thanks a lot! I’m definitely looking forward to the new job starting but I’m also looking forward to the next few weeks for this course/training. hahahah nice! I equally can’t wait to get back for our photography outing. I’ll talk to you at the end of April!

      Nate

      1. Have a great time!

        With the amount of time you said you have off between training and starting the new job, if you are up here long enough, we should be able to get together a couple of times if you like.

  2. Congreats and have a ball. It’s always cool to have a job you are totally passionate about, and that brings you enjoyment everyday 🙂

  3. Hey Nate, I am also quitting my job by the end of this month. Just like yours, my current job is not bad at all. But it’s just not for me. Good luck with your new job! (which sounds very exciting!).

    1. Hey Victor. Yeah this is the down-side. I’m going to have a good amount of time where I won’t be able to write. However, I’ll always be back, no worries there!
      – Nate

Leave a Reply

