How Did I Make This Photograph: Rozenhoedkaai Bruges, Belgium

Brugge Belgium Cityscape Canal Reflection at Night During a Rain Storm

One of the most photographed sites in all of Bruges! Here, the Groenerei and Dijver canals meet, creating a sitting area of incredible beauty. It is believed to have once been a mooring place for merchant ships in the middle ages, and today acts as a point where canal cruises full of tourists set-sail. Yet, just because it’s a bit touristy doesn’t mean it isn’t worth making a photograph of your own! This location provides one of the best vantage points of the belfry in the background with medieval buildings and the canals in the foreground.

How Did I Make This Photograph?

This photograph was particularly difficult to capture due to the fact that it began to downpour as soon as I got the tripod out and mounted the camera! The result was a constant battle between the rain and wiping down the lens element to clear it of water droplets in order to get an exposure long enough to achieve the desired effect.

Gear used to make this photograph:

  • Canon 5DMkIII camera body
  • Canon 17-40f/4L wide-angle zoom lens
  • Tripod

Camera Settings:

  • Exposure: 13sec
  • f/10
  • ISO250
  • @23mm

Even though I was able to keep my lens clear of water droplets for a 13-second exposure, still multiple elements came together to create this image and make it unique to others like it. For example, the motion of the rain blowing and splashing down on the water created a smooth blurred look to the canals, even more-so than they would have been had it not been raining. Yet, because it was so windy, the rain was landing in the water stronger in some places than others, which allowed the camera to pick up more reflection detail of the top of the brick wall at the center of the photograph giving the image an overall eerie almost graveyard look as the viewer’s eyes are drawn to what appear to be upside down crosses. Lastly, also due to the rain, the reflecting orange light surrounding the Belfry in the background was enhanced by the amount of water in the air, making it look as if the light completely wraps around the stone tower in the background.

Without these atmospheric conditions, undoubtedly this photograph would have come out very different…which is just one reason why when you see a photograph you want, yo make you should make it. The conditions necessary to make the photograph you see will probably never happen in the exact way again.

_ _

Hope you enjoyed this post! More content to come soon.

– Nate

See my entire landscape portfolio: Here

Prints available: Here

 

 

Author: Nathan Bush Wedding Photography

My name is Nathan Bush and I am a loving husband, an avid world traveler, an adventurer, and an off-road and Jeep enthusiast. I began my serious journey into photography in the mountains of Patagonia Argentina where I fell in love with the wilderness world. My passion has taken me to Iceland, Alaska, Peru, Argentina, Belgium, the Netherlands, and countless National Parks.  A good friend once told me I should combine my knack for beautiful landscape photography with capturing the details of their wedding, so I decided to dive right into the challenge. It has been quite a ride from there, and thus today, my passion for photography has evolved to capturing the raw candid emotion and intimate moments involved in wedding photography.

2 thoughts on “How Did I Make This Photograph: Rozenhoedkaai Bruges, Belgium”

  1. Some very touristy places are constantly crowded for a really good reason. This is such a beautiful shot, Nate! I wish I had more patience like you when I travel — I don’t even remember the last time I used my tripod.

    1. Hey Bama!

      Oh man! If I don’t have my tripod unfortunately I often don’t even feel it is necessary to bring my camera along. I’m so addicted to long exposures its crazy! The only exception is places where it is actually illegal to set up a tripod because of the amount of foot traffic they receive :/

Leave a comment