Iceland Day 5 – Blue Lagoon

First thing first, I promised some of you that I would post a photograph of the landscape that you see when your plane first lands in Iceland. I do my best to describe this bizarre landscape here, but hopefully the photo will stand for itself as well. Since the Blue Lagoon is located in the middle of this landscape, and in between Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik City, it is relevant that I post the photograph here. So, here is the massive 1,000-year-old lava-rock field that makes-up some of the desolate environment throughout Iceland:

The Blue Lagoon Spa is so out-of-this-world that it is almost indescribable. Going for a swim within the baby-blue geothermal seawater is like nothing I have ever experienced before.

The Blue Lagoon is a Spa that specializes in health, wellness, and skin care, provided by geothermal energy. The entire operation is powered solely on Iceland’s unique geothermal energy system which I describe in far more depth in my other post, here. The Lagoon is massive, approximately 5,000 m2 and at any given time holds 1,585,032.3 gallons of geothermal seawater, all of which is naturally replenished by the geothermal spring within a 40-hour period. Within these waters are three main ingredients:

Algae: Good for anti-aging. Fun fact – According to the Blue Lagoon, 60% of the 200 different microorganisms found in the Lagoon’s algae are new species.

Silica Mud: Good for strengthening. Silica deep-cleanses the skin and strengthens the skin’s barrier.

And lastly –

Minerals: Good for revitalizing. Both seawater and fresh spring water combine in the Blue Lagoon to create a healthy combination of natural minerals for revitalizing and remineralizing the skin.

Another fun fact: When bathing at the Blue Lagoon, you literally swim over two different tectonic plates; the Euro-asian and North American tectonic plates meet at the Blue Lagoon.

* All above facts based off of the Blue Lagoon and can be found at http://www.bluelagoon.com/Shop/A-Naturceutical-Brand/Active-Ingredients/ 

The Blue Lagoon has everything going for it. The geothermal waters are warm enough to keep you comfortable in the Winter, even when it snows on top of your head while you’re swimming (a highly recommended experience if you can time this properly), but the water isn’t too hot to make it uncomfortable for Summer bathing either. Whether you want to bathe all day long (and even enjoy a beer while you do so), or sit in for a natural steam bath in a “steam-cave” with geothermal steam pouring out of the rocks around you, or even relax in the indoor lounge and pay for a massage, you can do it all. No matter what your taste, the Blue Lagoon certainly offers a stress-free day of relaxation.

Here are quite a few photographs of the Blue Lagoon, Iceland:

The walkway through the lava-field to the entrance of Blue Lagoon.

Too cold for you outside? That’s alright, feel free to enter the warmth of the geothermal waters from the inside, if you’d like.

This map shows you everything you need to know about Blue Lagoon. This includes where you are, where the water gets deeper, how to get to the geothermal steam baths, how to get to the silica mud pots, and even offers readings of the water temperature from different places within the lagoon.

A place to hang your towel for when you’ve had your fill of swimming in the warm water. However, I advise you to be careful. Since you are required to shower prior to entrance to the Lagoon, your towel will probably be damp, and if swimming in the Winter months your towel may be prone to freezing by the time you’re done. I know from experience, it isn’t fun!

Head over for a swim by the natural geothermal steam pouring out of the boiling “hot-pot” of water in the middle of the deeper side of the lagoon. Caution: Boiling water tends to splash in the wind. While it wont necessarily burn you, it does allow a very hot surprise.

 

Take a shower in the warm waterfall…

Or head in the direction of the silica mud-pots and steam baths…

Especially in this Steam-Cave…

Or lounge about and enjoy the blue-water scenery against the lava-rock landscape from the warmth of the indoors…

 

But personally, I’d rather swim…

Or maybe head outside to photograph the beautiful  part of the Lagoon where no swimmers are allowed.

I was going to end here, but here is one last photograph:

I just love the way the water looks here. But that’s the Blue Lagoon! Overall, to fully understand the experience you absolutely have to visit and go for a swim yourself.

___________

I’ve been sitting in the airport for quite some time now. I’d like to thank WordPress for the honor of being Freshly Pressed with the post before this one– which can be accessed here. Upon my return, I never expected to see that in my email, so thank you. And thanks to everyone else who came on this brief journey with me from the comfort of your homes!

However, I still have many photographs from Iceland to post, so grab a chair, stick around…

Until then,

– Nate

Author: Nathan Bush Wedding Photography

My name is Nathan Bush and I am a loving husband, an avid world traveler, an adventurer, and an off-road and Jeep enthusiast. I began my serious journey into photography in the mountains of Patagonia Argentina where I fell in love with the wilderness world. My passion has taken me to Iceland, Alaska, Peru, Argentina, Belgium, the Netherlands, and countless National Parks.  A good friend once told me I should combine my knack for beautiful landscape photography with capturing the details of their wedding, so I decided to dive right into the challenge. It has been quite a ride from there, and thus today, my passion for photography has evolved to capturing the raw candid emotion and intimate moments involved in wedding photography.

24 thoughts on “Iceland Day 5 – Blue Lagoon”

  1. Awesome shots, enjoying your blog so much I actually looked into travelling cost to go to Iceland myself. Wow.

    1. Thank you, and glad to hear it! Hopefully you’ll book a trip, its absolutely worth it. Thanks for taking the time to read,
      – Nate

    1. Hi there, Well, budget costs can vary depending on how you want to live while your’re there, length of stay and many things. For 5 days I spent $1,000 but that also includes gifts for my sisters and other family (which added up fast), last minute tour bookings, etc. 1,000 and I lived very comfortably, but, I could have spent less over the course of 5 days, struggled a bit, maybe, but been perfectly happy. I hope this helps you at least a little bit. Thanks for reading,
      – Nate

  2. Love the shot of the boiling “hot pot” and how people are swimming while a guy stands outside in a winter coat and hood!

    And the one with the steam baths where everyone in the shot just seems to be staring at you…

    That scenery just looks amazing – like nothing I’ve ever seen. I love that the lagoon is directly over a place where the 2 plates are diverging. To think all that steam and heat and energy is basically just the earth’s farts as it gets ripped apart… 🙂 (Yep, I went there.)

    1. Yeah those are my favorite ones as well! Yeah, I tried to not be the obvious tourist taking photographs of people as they were bathing, but these kind of photos call to have people in them you know? I like how the one with the two guys closest to me came out, but there is that one man looking directly at me like “dude, wtf?”.

      Oh my god what an interesting way to put it. I’m not 100% sure if I like thinking of it that way– it sort of robs it of its natural beauty and bliss, but I still laughed out loud at this comment 😛

      Yes, the scenery is absolutely insane. That’s what I loved about Iceland. Completely different from anywhere else I have ever been. I honestly didn’t expect it to be like how it is, but I’m glad it was so different. Its a magical place.

  3. Thank you for sharing your trip with us. I have no doubt at all that Iceland is a place I want to visit. The scenery is so unique — like nothing I’ve ever seen before.

    Your photos are beautiful as well as informative.

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Having been surprised last year, I know it’s an amazing (and fun) experience.

    1. Hi Robin,
      Thanks for coming along via my blog! Iceland’s difference from anywhere else I have ever been is what I absolultely loved about it. Now I’m searching for that next “different” location to go see. I still havn’t been to Africa, so I may do that as a way to fulfill my goal of visiting every continent at an early age. Thanks for the compliments on my photography, and thanks for the congratulations! That was quite the surprise indeed.
      As always, thanks for reading,
      – Nate

  4. Nate, I was in Iceland June 2010, so I can agree that the Blue Lagoon is everything you say it is and more!
    I especially loved your tour. You are adventurous for going in the winter months. 🙂
    Did you happen to go to the Latrabjarg Bird Cliffs? It might be too difficult to get there this time of year. i went and got up close and personal with some puffins.
    Here’s the recap of my trip:
    http://jacquelincangro.wordpress.com/2010/06/19/friday-five-iceland-fostudagur-fimm-islandia/

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    1. Hi Jacquelin,
      Thank you!
      I had read that Iceland is filled worth tourists during Spring and Summer, so naturally as someone who hates to be considered a “tourist” I wanted to go during the Winter. However, I hear the country is quite beautiful in those months as well and quite different from how it is in the Winter, so now I’d love to go experience it during that time of the year. I did not go to Latrabjarg, I’ve never actually heard of it, but if it is a remote as you make it sound then in the Winter you probably can’t get there– a lot of those remote roads are closed during the Winter months. That will be something to see next time for sure!
      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment,
      – Nate

    1. Hi,
      Blue Lagoon is quite contrasting in the Winter, which is what I actually liked about it. Seriously, who wants to swim in warm water when it is warm/hot outside? The experience of swimming outdoors while it is snowing and sleeting is quite unforgetable. I’d recommend it if you ever visit Iceland. Thanks for reading!
      – Nate

    1. Hi Vallaura,
      Thanks! I hope you get to as well. There is not a force in this world strong enough to keep me from traveling 😛
      Thanks for the comment!
      – Nate

  5. Yeaaaaaa, Blue Lagoon! Brings me great memories!
    We weren’t lucky enough to catch a ride back to Reykjavik the other evening so we decided to put up a tent on lava rocks :). It was a very interesting experience!

    1. That would be interesting! Hopefully you had plenty of padding and protection for the bottom of your tent so that the jagged rocks didn’t 1: make the night uncomfortable for you and 2: tear up the bottom of your tent! I’m glad that you seem like you enjoyed your Icelandic experience as much as I did. Can’t wait to head back there!
      – Nate

      1. In fact the moss did a great job! We were concerned about the bottom of the tent a bit but it was all okay!
        You know… after the years I appreciate it more and more!

Leave a comment